Skip to content

Something I never thought I’d make myself …

August 22, 2009

… bathers!

And I’m just a teeny bit reluctant to keep pasting the photos ’round the internet (but it just doesn’t work on my dressmaker’s dummy), so I’m just going to link, because a link is easily removed:

http://www.burdastyle.com/projects/alison-swimsuit–2

The link to the free pattern I used is there. The pattern instructions were awful! I did find a blog with some hints on construction, thank goodness, but I still made a bunch of errors that I’ll do differently next time. There probably will be a next time, because despite the shortcomings of the instructions, it went together quite easily, and with a few adjustments, could be quite flattering. As flattering as any swimsuit is when you’ve had three children, anyway đŸ˜‰

I do really like the cut of the legs – true boy-leg styles make my legs look really short, but I’m not a fan of high-cut these days.

We’re heading to the Gold Coast in two weeks, and my old bathers have completely given up the ghost, so I figured it was worth a shot. The fabric cost about $10.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2009 4:51 am

    You look great! Swimmers (and things like bras and undies) are something that seems so complicated but I guess just takes the right cut and material

  2. August 24, 2009 7:01 am

    It looks lovely on you and you should be very proud :).

  3. November 22, 2009 10:40 pm

    Very nice! Fantastic effort, I'd never have guessed it was your first time sewing bathers, well done!

Leave a Reply

