Skip to content

Starting anew

May 6, 2012

I’m going to be honest. I completely flunked this round of 12WBT. But it’s ok, it’s not a test, nor does it determine my worth. That said, I’ve put weight back on – not a lot, but some – and more importantly, I feel crap again. I’m bloated, exhausted and disempowered.

I realised that since I went back to work in Round 2 last year, I haven’t focussed. I haven’t changed the way I was doing things and worked out new strategies for my new lifestyle.

Currently, I work Tuesday-Friday in the office, nominally 9-2 but I have to do regular out-of-hours events (usually evening plus a breakfast meeting once every few weeks). I also have a work-from-home job which takes about 10-15 hours a month, but because I don’t plan my time well enough, it ends up being 10-15 hours over a few nights each month. I play netball Monday mornings on my day off.

I have three kids. This term, their schedule looks like this:
Cross-country training (school) before school Mon, Tues, Fri
Cross-country/roadwalking training (Little Athletics) Mon and Wed 4.30-6.30pm
Winter sprints training (Little Athletics) Thursday afternoons
Cross-country run (Little Athletics) every second Saturday afternoon
Miss 9 does the occasional fun run with me – coming up we’re doing the Mother’s Day Classic 13 May, Run for a Reason 27 May, kids’ marathon 17 June.

My partner works from home which gives us some flexibility but then sometimes it seems like he never stops working! Also, working for himself, if he doesn’t get enough work done he doesn’t get paid.

So that’s me. I’ll schedule it in, somehow. It’ll just take focus.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. estaki12wbt permalink
    May 7, 2012 7:45 pm

    Hi Georgie good luck with this round. I too have a crazy schedule (but without kids) so I feel for you. One of my biggest challenges is making the time to get organized.

  2. Esta permalink
    May 7, 2012 7:47 pm

    Good luck with this round! While I don’t have kids yet I do still have a crazy schedule and I find my biggest challenge is making the time to get organized about my food and scheduling time to look after myself.

  3. Project:Girl permalink
    May 8, 2012 12:56 am

    Good luck juggling it all and I wish you all the success in the world with round two!

Leave a Reply

