Skip to content

On having a cleaner

May 17, 2012

I have a confession to make. 

I have a cleaner. The thrifty side of me rebels. The anti-elitist part of me worries it makes me a snob. Many people on teh interwebz agree with those parts of me!

Honestly, I think I really needed one more when I was at home with young kids, but I only got one after going back to work and after we moved into our newly-renovated home. I think of it as protecting the investment, preventative maintenance on kitchen and bathroom fittings, floors etc. I HATE housework but I can generally keep on top of laundry, dishes, wiping the benchtops, the occasional vacuum, however the ongoing maintenance cleaning just doesn’t get done, and a cleaner for two hours once a fortnight means it DOES get done.

It’s outsourcing. My partner and I both work outside the home and only have so much time, why not outsource something neither of us is good at? I recognise it’s a privilege to be able to afford a cleaner but I refuse to feel guilty about it and I am thriftier than most in other ways.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. estaki12wbt permalink
    May 17, 2012 8:03 pm

    Good for you! I’d love a cleaner but the obsessive compulsive side of me can’t stand the thought of someone else cleaning my house and not doing it right/up to my standard. I really need to get over this don’t I? Hehe.

    • georgieandthree permalink*
      May 17, 2012 10:47 pm

      There is an advantage to having very low standards!! Hehe. Actually, we went through an agency and our first cleaner just left and a new one came for the first time yesterday. I don’t think she did a very good job but I’m hoping it was just a first-time thing.

Leave a Reply

