Skip to content

Two weeks to go!

June 2, 2012

Oh my God. In two weeks I will hopefully be asleep in bed, getting a good night’s sleep before running my first marathon. I am getting really nervous!!

Tomorrow is my last long training run – 32km – which will be a good chance to fine-tune what I plan to do with nutrition and hydration during the race. I have some dextrose tablets for energy, and Powerade powder for electrolyte replenishment, my hydration belt has four bottles on so I will carry two of plain water and two of Powerade.

This Monday, another round of the Michelle Bridges 12 Week Body Transformation starts – and I have signed up again because this time, the finale workout and party will be in PERTH! This is super-exciting as many of my 12WBT buddies and I have travelled multiple times to the other side of the continent. It’s really refreshing to see so many of the Eastern staters be excited to come to Perth too, particularly those who have done a few rounds because they know just how passionate the Perth Crew are.

For the first two weeks of the program, I will be upping my calories a little bit, mostly with some rice and potatoes, to allow for the marathon preparation, as the last thing I want to do is deprive my body of fuel. Sadly I have to admit my eating habits have not been good, which I’m sure has been affecting my preparation and general well-being, so it is time to STOP this alarming upward trend and be the best version of me I can be again 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephen Turrell permalink
    June 2, 2012 2:11 pm

    This sounds like a great effort, good luck with the marathon. The fact you have realised nutrition is affecting your performance is perhaps a good thing and with 2 weeks to go you have plenty of time to prepare yourself nutritionally for the demands of a marathon. If your interested I just completed a study on endurance performance and the benefits of caffeine which may help you.

    • georgieandthree permalink*
      June 2, 2012 2:35 pm

      Thanks Stephen – I would be interested, caffeine intake is something that is very important to me 😉 I drink a lot of coffee! I have tried the energy gels with caffeine for having during a long run, but I can’t stomach the consistency of the gel.

      • Stephen Turrell permalink
        June 3, 2012 5:07 pm

        Yeah I know a lot of people are the same with gels have you tried other methods? I find just dissolving pro plus into a drink the night before works for me. Its proven to enhance endurance performance so whether it be from coffee, gels or red bull you will get benefits.

Leave a Reply

