Skip to content

Diary of a maiden marathon

June 17, 2012

Today was the day! I woke up with a sore throat which made me SO pissed off, but a quick saltwater gargle and a good breakfast (egg on toast with avocado) and I felt a bit better. I was really nervous before the start, and because the whole family was coming together I had to get the kids out the door and we only just made it in time for me to go to the loo (again) before I had to head to the start line. I saw a couple of friends before I started which gave me a bit of a boost.

Last Sunday was absolutely awful weather-wise but today was perfect, only light winds, overcast for much of the morning with bursts of sunshine. I think I would really have struggled in bad weather as we run by the river for much of the race, which would be very wet and windy!

I started off quite well but being such a long distance the first few kilometres were tough until I reached about the 5km mark and could then say I was 1/8th of the way there, and so on. From there I kept up a steady 6:10 pace right through the turn and until about the 29km mark. The course is an out-and-back, but there’s an extra bit at the beginning so the turn is about the 24km mark.

Having it be an out-and-back course, and the relay change stations located along the way, turns what could be quite a lonely run – as the field is only 600 or so runners and therefore quite spread out – into a much more social occasion. I got a few pick-me-ups from fellow 12WBT Perth Crew members – and Keren who was visiting from Melbourne to run the race! – which really helped me keep going.

My 21.1km split was 2hr11minutes which I was pretty happy with! My original big goal was to achieve 4hr30, but I had a few interruptions to my training and added stress, so to be that much under at halfway was exciting.

As I said, I kept up that steady pace until about 29km when I started to struggle a bit. I found my energy chews really hard to swallow, feeling like I was going to throw up when I tried to swallow. So I had to cut back on them which I think hurt me over the final stretch.

From 31 to 36km we were running alongside the freeway which was a bit lonely and noisy and probably my least favourite part of the run. Just after that I saw another lovely Perth Crew friend who was waiting for her husband (running a relay leg) and then passed another relay changeover.

The final 6km is along the South Perth foreshore which is somewhere I run frequently, so at least I knew what to expect. I won’t lie though, it HURT, and I had to take some walk breaks, which disappointed me a little. Kilometres 39 and 40 I felt like I couldn’t make it, wanted to give up, but once I hit the 41km mark I could see and hear the finish and knew I was almost there!

Suddenly I was there and the kids ran over to give me a hug and I’d done it!

ImageImage

Right now I am in a world of pain. I’ve had a bath and put on my Skins for recovery but OW. I’m also sunburned because going outside for 4 and a half hours without sunscreen is not a good idea even in winter – oops, was in too much of a hurry to get there this morning.

Thank you to everyone who has supported me on this journey: my family, Narelle Frichot (Frichot Fitness) who wrote my training plans, the entire 12WBT Perth Crew and of course Michelle Bridges for starting me on this journey 18 months ago!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2012 1:38 pm

    WAY TO GO MATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. coffeetolive permalink
    June 18, 2012 2:57 am

    You are AMAZING! What an achievement that must have been. Your kids would be SO proud of their mum! GO YOU! Do you think you’ll do another? Hope your recovery is quick!

  3. estaki12wbt permalink
    June 18, 2012 11:00 am

    Way to go! Congratulations and thanks for posting this!

Leave a Reply

