Skip to content

It’s a fashion statement, right?

August 27, 2012

You’ve heard of fingerless gloves. Well, today I “invented” the toeless sock. I’m not sure it will take off but it works for me!!

I have (again!!!) a big blood blister under the nail on my second toe. By the time I got home from work today, after the 30 minute walk home via the supermarket and picking Miss 4 up from daycare, it was throbbing so badly I had to take an anti-inflammatory for some relief. But the floors in my house are freeeeeezing at this time of year without slippers or bedsocks. So I found an old bedsock and cut the end off so that I can keep most of my foot warm without putting any pressure on the toe. What can I say, I’m a genius!

(Unfortunately I don’t think I can get away with wearing this fashion statement to work tomorrow, darn it.)

Any tips on troublesome toes? It’s the second toe on my left foot, and it’s a problem firstly because my second toes are slightly longer than my big toes, and secondly because my left foot is slightly bigger than my right foot. Therefore if I went up another half-size to make more room, it MIGHT be okay on my left foot but I would definltely have too much room on my right foot. I’ve been professionally fitted, so my shoes are as close to the right size as I can get with two slightly different feet.

Injinji toe socks help a little. I don’t run in anything else, because my toes also have an annoying tendency to cross over and rub on each other.

Vibrams might help, I’ve been tempted anyway, but on the other hand they might make it worse if the spot for the second toe is too short!! This nail goes black and/or comes off almost every time I run more than 20km 😦

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

