Skip to content

The art of discretion (or breastfeeding in public part 2)

January 21, 2013

Refer to my photo in my previous post. Is this discreet or indiscreet? I have no blanket or cover over my breast or baby’s head. But how much breast is actually showing? If I was sitting across from you would you actually notice me more if I did this – assuming you weren’t staring at my chest to begin with, which is your problem not mine – or threw a blanket over us?

Sure this could become “indiscreet” if E2 got cross and unlatched (especially at letdown, LOL). But in general, a baby who is feeding, either by breast or bottle, is a *quiet* baby and therefore by definition less noticeable than a crying baby.

I fed like this next to other plane passengers, on buses, at restaurants, in meetings, and so on. Never did *I* feel like I was being indiscreet. Indiscreet to me would be standing up and waving my breasts around or loudly saying “I’m going to breastfeed my baby now. DON’T LOOK!” (PS I don’t know anyone who has ever done that).

The problem with introducing the notion of “discretion” is that it is subjective. I believe every mother should feed how SHE feels comfortable, be that with a cover, in a parenting room or wherever she happens to be. Using a nursing tank, pulling down a neckline or pulling up a regular T-shirt/tank, whatever works for HER. 

If an onlooker thinks a mother is being “indiscreet” then the onlooker is not really supporting breastfeeding, just paying lip-service to the idea. “I support breastfeeding as long as I don’t have to see it.” Sorry, you don’t get that choice. The law doesn’t have any grey areas.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

