Skip to content

Time to blog again

May 14, 2014

When things get me so angry that 140 characters on Twitter is not enough – I need to blog!

What is it that has me so incensed, you might wonder? 

Australia’s 2014 Federal Budget. It’s a disgrace to the name of Australia.

More on that tomorrow.

A lot has changed in the year and a bit since I last posted here. Unfortunately, the children’s father and I split up in early 2013. That has been very difficult for us all and for me one of the hardest parts was adjusting to shared custody and being a part-time parent. As part of those changes I am now at work full-time, and also got a promotion recently. I’m good at my job and there are many aspects of it I enjoy but it adds an extra layer to the complexity of life.

I since met a new partner, M, whom I adore, but we don’t live together and I can’t see us doing so for the immediate future for a number of reasons (geography, family size, money, my lack of driver’s licence). Juggling a new relationship that is not live-in has its own difficulties, as does handling blended families. M has two children with his ex-wife. My kids’ dad also has a new partner who lives with him and thankfully gets along very well with the kids.

Towards the end of last year I had some mental and physical health issues that stopped me running for a good 6 months. I’ve just taken it up again in the last six weeks or so – with the exception of last week when I’ve had a virus! – and gosh I missed it! The endorphins, the stress relief of running. I’m still very slow and 10km is a “long” run but I’m getting there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

