Skip to content

The freezer is full!

June 5, 2016

I’m still going with my Woolies gift card, just popping in and picking up markdowns only, got some good stuff this week, especially since I’m not feeling the best at present and therefore not very creative with dinners. Three pizzas from the supermarket still beats takeaway. When we have stuff like the chicken kebabs I just serve with a simple salad or steamed/roast veg so there is still fresh food in there – I just don’t have to think much about it.

This lot cost $166 all up, slightly over budget but M was well under last weekend when I was away, so we’ve had two weeks well under budget. The freezer is really full now, I rearranged and it was a bit like playing Tetris.

Here’s what we got:

The prepacked fruit and veg at Spudshed was:

  • big bag of apples $1
  • 2 sweetcorn $1
  • 2 bunches Chinese greens $1
  • 2 heads broccoli $2

Vague meal plan with these goodies/other freezer stocks:

  • tonight we’re having a chicken and vegie stir-fry. M froze the chicken breasts in bags of 2 so I’ll poach one for sandwiches/lunches too
  • quiche and roast veg – there will be leftovers for lunch
  • chicken kebabs, rice and roast veg salad using leftovers from previous night
  • hamburgers (vegie burger for Emma)
  • chicken schnitzels, potatoes, broccoli
  • chorizo/chicken/tomato pasta

I’m having a lot of porridge for breakfast at the moment; really can’t beat it when the weather’s cold.  I just use the recipe from the bag of quick oats: 1/3 cup quick oats, 3/4 cup liquid (I use a little full-cream milk and the rest water). Microwave 1 min, stir, microwave until done to your liking. Add brown sugar to taste.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

